档案

BLONDELL CUMMINGS:像动人的照片一样跳舞

2021年9月18日 – 2022年2月19日

与盖蒂研究所合作

开幕时间:2021 年 9 月 18 日,下午 2:00 – 下午 5:00

3401 W. 43rd Place, 洛杉矶, 90008

 

更多信息

更少的信息

布隆德尔·卡明斯:舞动的画面 揭示了非裔美国编舞家和视频艺术家 Blondell Cummings(美国人,1944-2015 年)的关键工作。卡明斯通过一种她称之为“动图”的独特运动词汇,将摄影的视觉意象和运动的动能结合起来进行舞蹈,探索日常仪式的情感细节,以及黑人家庭生活的亲密。她的手势通常源于个人记忆、社区研讨会和照片。 1978 年,卡明斯成立了自行车艺术基金会,这是一个讨论/表演研讨会,专注于家庭问题,包括更年期、护理和日常仪式。卡明斯被认为是舞蹈界的基础人物,因为她能够将后现代舞蹈实验与黑舞传统联系起来。在她最著名的作品中 鸡汤 (1981),卡明斯记得家庭厨房是她编舞的基础。 2006年,该舞蹈被国家艺术基金会评为美国杰作。

卡明斯的职业生涯反映了她对运动的动态兴趣,这些运动将后现代和黑色舞蹈形式与动态图像联系起来。她在 Martha Graham、Jose Limon 和 Alvin Ailey 的学校接受现代舞蹈传统培训,并师从 Eleo Pomare、Pearl Primus 和 Walter Nicks。从 1969 年到 79 年,她与梅雷迪思·蒙克 (Meredith Monk) 的公司 The House 一起跳舞。 1982 年,她参加了 Ishmael Houston-Jones 开创性的舞蹈展览 平行线,以新一代黑人舞者为特色,他们的观念和审美关注重新考虑了黑人舞蹈的传统和未来。同年,她与雕塑家兼表演艺术家 Senga Nengudi 和音乐家 Yasunao Tone 合作,为 Just Above Midtown Gallery 进行表演。卡明斯出现在包括伊冯娜·雷纳 (Yvonne Rainer) 在内的几部实验性动画作品中 克里斯蒂娜说话的照片 (1976), 菲利普·马洛里·琼斯 没有水晶楼梯 (1977) 和雪莉克拉克的 视觉日记 (1980).

展览主要取材于卡明斯的罕见作品的个人视频档案。除了表演文件,展览还将展示采访、照片和她鲜为人知的舞蹈电影,包括 周期 (1978) 在夜间搅拌 (1983)。它们一起揭示了艺术家对多学科艺术创作的承诺,这些艺术创作经常将舞蹈与戏剧、文字、摄影和运动图像的元素相结合。这是第一个博物馆展览和献给艺术家的书籍。 布隆德尔·卡明斯:舞动的画面 是艺术+实践与盖蒂研究所的非裔美国人艺术史倡议之间的合作。卡明斯的视频档案在纽约公共图书馆杰罗姆罗宾斯舞蹈部的特别收藏中。 

作为本次展览的一部分,盖蒂研究所开发了一个 研究指南 支持对卡明斯的研究。查看指南及其支持资源,包括关于卡明斯的大量信息、著名的 GRI 馆藏、著名的外部馆藏、关于表演、运动图像和视觉艺术的理论和批评以及课程资源。

如果有兴趣安排教育之旅 布隆德尔·卡明斯:舞动的画面,请安排 这里.

本次展览由Art + Practice和盖蒂研究所共同主办,研究专家Kristin Juarez共同策展; Rebecca Peabody,研究项目和学术外展负责人;和 Glenn Phillips,高级策展人、展览主管和现代和当代收藏主管,在 Samantha Gregg 和 Alex Jones 的策展和研究协助下。

布隆德尔·卡明斯:舞动的画面 得到 Maria Hummer-Tuttle 和 Robert Holmes Tuttle 的慷慨支持,以及 Gary 和 Kathi Cypres 以及 Michael Rubel 和 Kristin Rey 的额外支持。 

特别鸣谢纽约公共图书馆的 Jerome Robbins 舞蹈部和 Blondell Cummings Estate。

布隆德尔·卡明斯。明胶银印。照片 © Beatriz Schiller 2021。洛杉矶盖蒂研究所 (2014.M.6)。由 Blondell Cummings 提供。
布隆德尔·卡明斯,
Cherry Kim,Blondell Cummings 的联系表
Cherry Kim,Blondell Cummings 的联系表
Cherry Kim,Blondell Cummings 的联系表

教育资源

安排自助游

A+P 的教育计划欢迎教师和学生探索和参与 A+P 博物馆策划的展览。有兴趣将您的课程带到 A+P 吗?周二至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 提供免费自助游

盖蒂研究所资源指南

本研究指南支持已故编舞家和视频艺术家 Blondell Cummings 的研究。本指南中包含一系列档案、其他主要来源和次要来源,它们展示了卡明斯工作的多学科影响。研究人员将找到专用于卡明斯的资源以及艺术、舞蹈和移动图像历史的参考书目,为卡明斯的艺术提供史学方法。

安装视图

 
介绍 选择作品 教育资源 安装视图 进一步的研究 新闻稿

Archive

BLONDELL CUMMINGS: DANCE AS MOVING PICTURES

September 18, 2021 – February 19, 2022

In Collaboration With The Getty Research Institute

Opening: September 18, 2021, 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM

3401 W. 43rd Place, Los Angeles, 90008

 

More Info

Less Info

Blondell Cummings: Dance as Moving Pictures sheds new light on the pivotal work of African American choreographer and video artist Blondell Cummings (American, 1944-2015).  Through a unique movement vocabulary that she called “moving pictures,” Cummings made dance that combined the visual imagery of photography and the kinetic energy of movement to explore the emotional details of daily rituals, as well as the intimacy of black home life. Her gestures often stemmed from personal memories, community workshops, and photographs. In 1978 Cummings formed the Cycle Arts Foundation, a discussion/performance workshop focused on familial issues including menopause, caregiving, and rituals of the everyday. Cummings is considered a foundational figure in dance for her ability to bridge postmodern dance experimentation and black dance traditions. In her most well-known work Chicken Soup (1981), Cummings remembered the family kitchen as a basis for her choreography. In 2006, the dance was deemed an American Masterpiece by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Cummings’ career reflects her dynamic interests in movement that bridged post-modern and black dance forms along with moving images. She trained in modern dance traditions in the schools of Martha Graham, Jose Limon, and Alvin Ailey, and studied with Eleo Pomare, Pearl Primus, and Walter Nicks. From 1969-79 she danced with Meredith Monk’s company, The House. In 1982 she was part of Ishmael Houston-Jones’ groundbreaking dance exhibition Parallels, which featured a new generation of black dancers whose conceptual and aesthetic concerns reconsidered the traditions and the future of black dance. That same year she collaborated with sculptor and performance artist Senga Nengudi and musician Yasunao Tone in performance for Just Above Midtown Gallery. Cummings appeared in several experimental moving image works including Yvonne Rainer’s Kristina Talking Pictures (1976), Phillip Mallory Jones’ No Crystal Stair (1977), and Shirley Clarke’s A Visual Diary (1980).

The exhibition draws largely from Cummings’ personal video archive of rarely seen works. Alongside performance documentation, the exhibition will also feature interviews, photographs, and her lesser-known dance films, including Cycles (1978) and In Night Stir (1983). Together they reveal the artist’s commitment to multidisciplinary art-making that often combined dance with elements of theater, text, photography, and the moving image. This is the first museum exhibition and book dedicated to the artist. Blondell Cummings: Dance as Moving Pictures is a collaboration between Art + Practice and the Getty Research Institute’s African American Art History Initiative. Cummings’ video archive is in the special collections of the Jerome Robbins Dance Division of New York Public Library. 

As part of this exhibition, the Getty Research Institute developed a research guide to support the study of Cummings. To view the guide and its supporting resources, including extensive information on Cummings, notable GRI collections, notable external collections, theory and criticism on performance, moving images and visual art as well as curriculum resources.

If interested in scheduling an educational tour of Blondell Cummings: Dance as Moving Pictures, please schedule here.

This exhibition is co-organized by Art + Practice and the Getty Research Institute, and co-curated by Kristin Juarez, Research Specialist; Rebecca Peabody, Head, Research Projects & Academic Outreach; and Glenn Phillips, Senior Curator, Head of Exhibitions, and Head of Modern & Contemporary Collections, with curatorial and research assistance from Samantha Gregg and Alex Jones.

Blondell Cummings: Dance as Moving Pictures is generously supported by Maria Hummer-Tuttle and Robert Holmes Tuttle, with additional support from Gary and Kathi Cypres, and Michael Rubel and Kristin Rey. 

Special acknowledgement is given to the Jerome Robbins Dance Division of New York Public Library and the Blondell Cummings Estate.

Although tickets will not be required for entry, RSVP HERE if you would like a reminder and information about future programs.  

Blondell Cummings. Gelatin silver print. Photo © Beatriz Schiller 2021. Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles (2014.M.6). Courtesy the Estate of Blondell Cummings.
Blondell Cummings,
Cherry Kim, Contact Sheet for Blondell Cummings in
Cherry Kim, Contact Sheet for Blondell Cummings in
Cherry Kim, Contact Sheet for Blondell Cummings in

Educational Resouces

Schedule a self-guided tour

A+P’s education program welcomes teachers and students to explore and engage with A+P’s museum-curated exhibitions. Interested in bringing your class to A+P? Free self-guided tours are available to schedule Tuesday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Getty Research Institute Resource Guide

This research guide supports the study of the late choreographer and video artist Blondell Cummings. Included in this guide is a selection of archives, additional primary sources, and secondary sources that demonstrate the multidisciplinary reach of Cummings’ work. Researchers will find resources dedicated to Cummings as well as bibliographies on art, dance, and moving image histories that offer a historiographic approach to Cummings’ art.

Intro Select Works Educational Resources Further Research Press Release