公共项目

对话:杰伊·卡隆和约书亚·奥杜加

2021 年 1 月 10 日
下午6:30

与合作

盖蒂研究所

11 月 10 日下午 6:30,与编舞家 Jay Carlon 一起与 Art + Practice 的公共项目和展览经理 Joshua Oduga 进行亲密对话。通过探索卡隆作为编舞家、舞蹈团领导者和表演者的历史,卡隆和奥杜加将讨论社区连通性的想法,为特定地点和电影创作舞蹈作品。卡隆和奥杜加还将探讨卡隆的“审问、干预和深思熟虑的挑衅,旨在为观众和参与者提供归属感和治愈空间”的哲学。对话将建立在 Carlon 和 Oduga 之间数周的讨论之上,以此作为探索艺术家实践的一种方式。

该节目将于太平洋标准时间 2021 年 11 月 10 日下午 6:30 通过 A+P 网站预先录制和分享。这意味着欢迎来自世界任何地方的任何有兴趣参加此计划的人,您只需要一个互联网连接!不需要回复。

如果您需要有关未来计划的提醒和信息,请回复 这里 并且将通过电子邮件将查看该程序的链接发送给 RSVP 列表中的所有人员。

行李,2021 年。照片:法拉索萨。由地铁艺术提供。
越界,2017 年。照片:德里克·拉斯。由杰伊·卡隆提供。
越界,2017 年。照片:Andrew Mandinach。由杰伊·卡隆提供。
FLEX,2019 年照片:Lindsey Schiffman。由杰伊·卡隆提供。
折叠、展开、重新折叠,2019 年。照片:Vanessa Croccini。由杰伊·卡隆提供。

扬声器

杰伊·卡隆 是一位居住在洛杉矶和纽约市的当代运动艺术家,其高度体力的工作以实验性的、场地敏感的表演为中心。在加利福尼亚州中部海岸出生和长大,Carlon 的作品受到他作为一名竞技摔跤手的背景的启发,同时他在菲律宾、天主教和农业移民工作家庭中成长为 12 岁中最小的一个。他致力于将他的艺术实践与可持续性以及他个人和集体的非殖民化之旅联系起来。他共同创立了 istorya-istorya,这是一个通过对话、食物和游戏中的研究和实践来(重新)想象 Pilipinx/a/o 身份的集体。 2020 年,Carlon 被《舞蹈杂志》评为最值得关注的 25 名。他的作品曾在洛杉矶的 REDCAT、布罗德博物馆、洛杉矶舞蹈项目、联合车站(地铁艺术)、安嫩伯格社区海滨别墅、洛杉矶表演实践、Oxy Arts 和 homeLA 展出;在纽约第 92 年和当前会议;在破土节的凤凰城;在墨西哥蒙特雷的 Espacio Expectante;和在泰国曼谷的创意移民。 Jay 是澳大利亚空中奇观剧院公司 Sway 的表演者和副导演,他曾在 2014 年奥运会、2016 年世博会和 2018 年超级碗上演出。卡隆还曾在林肯中心、Palissimo、Oguri、No)one 的大都会歌剧院演出。 Art House、Rodrigo y Gabriela、Annie-B Parson、Solange Knowles、Gerard & Kelly,以及 Kanye West 和 Mndsgn 的编舞项目。

杰卡隆网

约书亚·奥杜加 是 Art + Practice 的公共项目和展览经理。他拥有超过十年的直接与艺术家、社区和艺术组织合作的专业知识。在此期间,他的大部分工作都集中在弥合艺术家团体与其工作社区之间的差距,始终致力于资源和思想的自由交流。除了在 A+P 工作之外,Joshua 继续担任独立策展人和音乐家,专注于艺术实践中的新兴技术和合作。

本系列的其他程序

周四 1

艺术家访谈:MARJANI FORTE-SAUNDERS

2021 年 10 月 12 日
6:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

对话:艾略特·里德和约书亚·奥杜加

2021 年 10 月 26 日
6:30 p.m. - 8 p.m.

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

值得思考的食物:与 Korsha Wilson 一起为金发女郎干杯

2021 年 1 月 2 日
下午6:30

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

探索档案:展览制作中的档案

2021 年 1 月 3 日
下午6:30

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

思想的食物:用茉莉花尿素为金发女郎干杯

2021 年 11 月 9 日
下午6:30

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

思想的食物:用 NESANET TESHAGER ABEGAZE 为金发女郎干杯

2021 年 11 月 16 日
4:00 PM

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

周四 1

艺术家访谈:LIGIA LEWIS

2021 年 11 月 17 日
下午6:30

此活动已通过,观看存档的直播

介绍 信息 选择作品 扬声器 其他项目

Public Programs

IN CONVERSATION: JAY CARLON AND JOSHUA ODUGA

November 10, 2021
6:30 p.m.

In Collaboration With

The Getty Research Institute

Join choreographer Jay Carlon for an intimate conversation with Art + Practice’s Public Programs and Exhibitions Manager Joshua Oduga on November 10th at 6:30 PM. Through an exploration of Carlon’s history as a choreographer, dance company leader and performer, Carlon and Oduga will discuss ideas of community connectivity, creating dance works for specific sites and film. Carlon and Oduga will also explore Carlon’s philosophy of “interrogations, interventions, and thoughtful provocations that aim to provide audiences and participants with a sense of belonging and a space for healing”. The conversation will build on weeks of discussions between Carlon and Oduga as a way to explore the artist’s practice.

This program will be pre-recorded and shared via A+P’s website on November 10, 2021 at 6:30 p.m. PST. This means that anyone interested in attending this program from anywhere in the world is welcome, all you need is an internet connection! No RSVP is necessary.

If you would like a reminder and information about future programs please RSVP HERE and a link to view the program will be emailed to all of those on the RSVP list.

BAGGAGE, 2021. Photo: Farah Sosa. Courtesy of Metro Arts.
Out of Bounds, 2017. Photo: Derek Rath. Courtesy of Jay Carlon.
Out of Bounds, 2017. Photo: Andrew Mandinach. Courtesy of Jay Carlon.
FLEX, 2019 Photo: Lindsey Schiffman. Courtesy of Jay Carlon.
fold, unfold, refold, 2019. Photo: Vanessa Croccini. Courtesy of Jay Carlon.

Speakers

Jay Carlon is a contemporary movement artist based in Los Angeles and New York City whose highly physical work is centered in experimental, site-sensitive performance. Born and raised on California’s Central Coast, Carlon’s work is inspired by his background as a competitive wrestler while growing up the youngest of 12 in a Filipino, Catholic, and agricultural migrant-working family. He is committed to connecting his art practice to sustainability and his personal and collective journey of decolonization. He co-found istorya-istorya, a collective that (re)imagines the Pilipinx/a/o identity through research and practice in conversation, food and play. In 2020, Carlon was named Dance Magazine’s Top 25 to Watch. His work has been presented in Los Angeles at REDCAT, The Broad Museum, Los Angeles Dance Project, Union Station (Metro Arts), Annenberg Community Beach House, Los Angeles Performance Practice, Oxy Arts, and homeLA; in New York at 92ndY and The CURRENT SESSIONS; in Phoenix at Breaking Ground Festival; in Monterrey, Mexico at Espacio Expectante; and in Bangkok, Thailand at Creative Migration. Jay is a performer and associate director with Australian aerial spectacle theatre company Sway, where he has performed at the 2014 Olympics, the 2016 World EXPO, and the 2018 Super Bowl. Carlon has also performed with the Metropolitan Opera at Lincoln Center, Palissimo, Oguri, No)one. Art House, Rodrigo y Gabriela, Annie-B Parson, Solange Knowles, Gerard & Kelly, and choreographed projects for Kanye West and Mndsgn.

jaycarlon.com

Joshua Oduga is Art + Practice’s Public Programs and Exhibitions Manager. He has over a decade of expertise working directly with artists, communities, and artistic organizations. Much of his work during this time has focused on bridging the gap between groups of artists and the communities they work in, always working towards the free exchange of resources and ideas. In addition to working at A+P, Joshua continues to work as an independent curator and musician, focusing on emerging technologies and collaboration in artistic practices.

Other Programs in this Series

Tue 12 Oct

ARTIST TALK: MARJANI FORTE-SAUNDERS

October 12, 2021
6:30 p.m.

Tue 26 Oct
Wed 17 Nov

ARTIST TALK: LIGIA LEWIS

November 17, 2021
6:30 p.m.

Intro Info Select Works Speakers Other Programs