档案

集体星座:艾琳哈里斯诺顿系列精选

2020 年 2 月 8 日 – 2021 年 1 月 2 日

与哈默博物馆合作

开幕时间:2020 年 2 月 8 日下午 2:00 – 5:00

3401 W. 43rd Place, 洛杉矶, CA 90008

更多信息

更少的信息

艺术 + 实践和哈默博物馆的礼物 集体星座:艾琳·哈里斯·诺顿 (Eileen Harris Norton) 精选集。

集体星座 精选了慈善家、艺术收藏家和 Art + Practice 联合创始人艾琳·哈里斯·诺顿 (Eileen Harris Norton) 的个人艺术收藏品中的有色人种女性艺术作品。 Harris Norton 最初侧重于年轻的洛杉矶艺术家,三十多年来一直在收集当代艺术和支持艺术家。 1986 年,她遇到并获得了艺术家和艺术倡导者露丝·瓦迪 (Ruth Waddy) 的自画像,从而激发了她对收藏的兴趣。

集体星座 旨在突出跨代、多民族和跨国界的开拓性艺术家群体,他们对当代艺术的格局产生了深远的影响。星座是单个恒星的集合,它们共享的质量形成一个形状。 Collective Constellation 汇集了一组独特的艺术作品,以展示有色人种女性在不断发展的当代艺术景观中做出的重要贡献。

展览突出了一系列作品、共享的女权主义实践、艺术技巧和运动、政治和社会问题以及侨民的概念,并涉及灵性、家庭生活、记忆和历史创伤、身体、亲密关系、权力动态和暴力等主题对女性。

作品涵盖绘画、版画、摄影、雕塑、视频和装置,艺术家包括 Belkis Ayón、Sadie Barnette、Carolyn Castaño、Nzuji De Magalhaes、Renée Green、Mona Hatoum、Varnette Honeywood、Samella Lewis、Julie Mehretu、Ana Mendieta、 Beatriz Milhazes、Wangechi Mutu、Shirin Neshat、Lorraine O'Grady、Adrian Piper、Betye Saar、Alison Saar、Doris Salcedo、Amy Sherald、Lorna Simpson、Ruth Waddy、Kara Walker、Carrie Mae Weems、Lynette Yiadom-Boakye 和 Brenna Youngblood。

每件艺术品都以其大胆的艺术身份声明而强大。他们一起展示了他们收藏家的传记,并深入了解了有色人种女性的大量创意作品。

展览延伸到 A+P 项目室,其中有一个名为 家庭风格 通过展出艺术家萨迪·巴内特 (Sadie Barnette)。

集体星座:艾琳·哈里斯·诺顿 (Eileen Harris Norton) 精选集 将于 2021 年 2 月 8 日至 1 月 2 日在 Art + Practice 展出。 本次展览由 Art + Practice 和洛杉矶哈默博物馆联合举办。该展览由哈默博物馆副策展人艾琳克里斯托瓦尔组织。

艾米·谢拉德,当我放下自己,我就会成为我可能成为的样子(自我想象图集),2018 年。布面油画。 54 x 43 x 2 英寸。 ©艾米谢拉尔德。由艺术家和豪瑟沃斯提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Lynette Yiadom-Boakye。 Carpal Tunneller,2013 年。布面油画。 31 1/2 x 23 5/8 英寸。 © Lynette Yiadom-Boakye。由艺术家、纽约 Jack Shainman 画廊和伦敦 Corvi-Mora 提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Ruth Waddy,自画像,1966 年。Lino 版画。 23 x 19 3/4 英寸。 © Ruth Waddy。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Lorna Simpson,Tense,1991 年。3 幅银色明胶印刷品,共 3 幅(每幅 1 幅)5 个雕刻塑料牌匾。 49 ¼ x 128 ½ x 1 7/8 英寸。 © Lorna Simpson。由艺术家和豪瑟沃斯提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Betye Saar,《友谊的纪念品》,1977 年。混合媒体组合。 15 3/4 x 14 3/4 x 1 英寸。 © Betye Saar。由艺术家和罗伯茨项目提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Lorraine O'Grady,Mlle Bourgeoise Noire Costume,1980 年。丝绸、切割玻璃、金属、混合媒体。尺寸可变。 © Lorraine O'Grady/艺术家权利协会 (ARS),纽约。由纽约 Alexander Gray Associates 提供。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
赛迪·巴内特,《无题(自由安吉拉)》,2018 年。混合媒体。 12 x 14 3/4 x 3 英寸。 © Sadie Barnette。由艺术家和洛杉矶查理詹姆斯画廊提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Carrie Mae Weems,即将播出,2003 年至 2004 年。视频。 51 分 34 秒。 © Carrie Mae Weems。由艺术家和纽约 Jack Shainman 画廊提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
希琳·奈沙特。 Allegiance with Wakefulness, 1994. 用墨水拍摄的黑白照片。 48 x 39 1/4 英寸。 © Shirin Neshat。由艺术家和纽约格莱斯顿画廊提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。
Doris Salcedo, Atrabiliarios, 1993. 用胶合板、七只鞋、牛膀胱和手术线安装墙壁。 26 x 54 x 4 英寸。 © Doris Salcedo。由艺术家和白立方提供。艾琳哈里斯诺顿收藏。照片:查尔斯·怀特。

虚拟旅游

约书亚·怀特 / JWPictures 拍摄的 Matterport VR

教育资源

安排自助游

A+P 的教育计划欢迎教师和学生探索和参与 A+P 博物馆策划的展览。有兴趣将您的课程带到 A+P 吗?周二至周五上午 9:00 至下午 5:00 提供免费自助游

K-12 年级教师和学生讲义

A+P 邀请当地学校、学生、教师和组织通过教师资源指南和学生讲义(适用于 K-12 年级)体验、分析和参与其展出的展览。这些讲义包含加利福尼亚州内容标准(VAPA 和 ELA),可供教师适应他们现有的课程。

安装视图

 
介绍 选择作品 虚拟旅游 教育资源 安装视图 新闻稿 相关编程

Archive

COLLECTIVE CONSTELLATION: SELECTIONS FROM THE EILEEN HARRIS NORTON COLLECTION

February 8, 2020 – January 2, 2021

In Collaboration With Hammer Museum

Opening: February 8, 2020, 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM

3401 W. 43rd Place, Los Angeles, CA 90008

More Info

Less Info

Art + Practice and the Hammer Museum present Collective Constellation: Selections from The Eileen Harris Norton Collection.

Collective Constellation features a selection of artworks by women of color from the personal art collection of philanthropist, art collector and Art + Practice co-founder, Eileen Harris Norton. With an initial emphasis on young, Los Angeles-based artists, Harris Norton has been collecting contemporary art and supporting artists for more than three decades. Her interest in collecting was sparked after encountering and acquiring a self-portrait by artist and arts advocate Ruth Waddy in 1986.

Collective Constellation seeks to highlight an intergenerational, multi-ethnic and transnational group of trailblazing artists who have profoundly impacted the landscape of contemporary art. A constellation is a gathering of individual stars whose shared mass forms a shape. Collective Constellation brings together a unique group of artworks in order to display the critical contributions women of color have made within the ever-evolving landscape of contemporary art.

The exhibition highlights a range of works, shared feminist practices, art techniques and movements, political and social issues and the notion of diaspora and addresses topics such as spirituality, domestic life, memory and historical trauma, the body, intimacy, power dynamics and violence towards women.

With works ranging from painting, printmaking, photography, sculpture, video, and installation, artists include Belkis Ayón, Sadie Barnette, Carolyn Castaño, Nzuji De Magalhaes, Renée Green, Mona Hatoum, Varnette Honeywood, Samella Lewis, Julie Mehretu, Ana Mendieta, Beatriz Milhazes, Wangechi Mutu, Shirin Neshat, Lorraine O’Grady, Adrian Piper, Betye Saar, Alison Saar, Doris Salcedo, Amy Sherald, Lorna Simpson, Ruth Waddy, Kara Walker, Carrie Mae Weems, Lynette Yiadom-Boakye and Brenna Youngblood.

Each of the artworks are powerful on their own as bold statements of artistic identity. Together they reveal a biography of their collector and offer a deeper look into the vast creative production of women of color.

The exhibition extends into the A+P Project Room with an interactive installation entitled FAMILY STYLE by exhibiting artist Sadie Barnette.

Collective Constellation: Selections from The Eileen Harris Norton Collection will be on view at Art + Practice February 8 through January 2, 2021. This exhibition is co-organized by Art + Practice and the Hammer Museum, Los Angeles. The exhibition is organized by the Hammer Museum associate curator Erin Christovale.

Amy Sherald, When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be (Self-Imagined atlas), 2018. Oil on canvas. 54 x 43 x 2 inches. © Amy Sherald. Courtesy of the artist and Hauser & Wirth. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Lynette Yiadom-Boakye. Carpal Tunneller, 2013. Oil on canvas. 31 1/2 x 23 5/8 in. © Lynette Yiadom-Boakye. Courtesy of the artist, Jack Shainman Gallery, New York and Corvi-Mora, London. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Ruth Waddy, Self Portrait, 1966. Lino-cut print. 23 x 19 3/4 in. © Ruth Waddy. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Lorna Simpson, Tense, 1991. 3 silver gelatin prints, 3 frames total (1 print in each) 5 engraved plastic plaques. 49 ¼ x 128 ½ x 1 7/8 in. © Lorna Simpson. Courtesy of the artist and Hauser & Wirth. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Betye Saar, Souvenir of Friendship, 1977. Mixed media assemblage. 15 3/4 x 14 3/4 x 1 in. © Betye Saar. Courtesy of the artist and Roberts Projects. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Lorraine O’Grady, Mlle Bourgeoise Noire Costume, 1980. Silk, cut glass, metal, mixed media. Dimensions variable. © Lorraine O’Grady/Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York. Courtesy of Alexander Gray Associates, New York. Photo: Charles White.
Sadie Barnette, Untitled (Free Angela), 2018. Mixed media. 12 x 14 3/4 x 3 in. © Sadie Barnette. Courtesy of the artist and Charlie James Gallery, Los Angeles. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Carrie Mae Weems, Coming Up For Air, 2003 – 2004. Video. 51 Min, 34 sec. © Carrie Mae Weems. Courtesy of the artist and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Shirin Neshat. Allegiance with Wakefulness, 1994. Black & white photograph with ink. 48 x 39 1/4 in. © Shirin Neshat. Courtesy of the artist and Gladstone Gallery, New York. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.
Doris Salcedo, Atrabiliarios, 1993. Wall installation with plywood, seven shoes, cow bladder, and surgical thread. 26 x 54 x 4 in. © Doris Salcedo. Courtesy of the artist and White Cube. The Eileen Harris Norton Collection. Photo: Charles White.

Virtual Tour

Matterport VR captured by Joshua White/JWPictures

Educational Resouces

Schedule a self-guided tour

A+P’s education program welcomes teachers and students to explore and engage with A+P’s museum-curated exhibitions. Interested in bringing your class to A+P? Free self-guided tours are available to schedule Tuesday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Grades K-12 Teacher and Student Handouts

A+P invites local schools, students, teachers, and organizations to experience, analyze, and engage with its exhibitions on view via teacher resource guides and student handouts (for grades K-12). These handouts incorporate the California State Contents Standards (VAPA and ELA) are available for teachers to adapt to their existing curriculums.

Installation View

 
Intro Select Works Virtual Tour Educational Resources Installation View Press Release Related Programming